Dee In A Nutshell

Feed Me, Love Me, Never Leave Me.

Incredible India – Last days in Delhi

4 Comments

Tuesday

So I didn’t do anything during the day on Tuesday but at night I went to the Hard Rock Cafe in New Delhi and had the time of my life. The music was on point, the margheritas were awesome and the food was to die for. I got myself a souvenir Hard Rock Couture tee that I am in love with.

Wednesday

I had a fun day today. I had the most thorough mani-pedi I have ever had. These men were not joking about their work, my feet have never felt so clean. However, that was not the funnes thing that happened to me.

In the rickshaw on the way home, we stopped at the lights, and this little boy looking like he was right out of Slumdog Millionaire run up to us with a bunch of books. Now I have been looking for used books especially those by Indian authors that are hard to come by in Uganda because I really love Indian fiction and one of the books he had was ‘The White Tiger’ by Aravind Adiga which one the coveted Booker Prize last year. I promptly bought a copy for 100 rupees although that price was bargained down from 395 rupees (almost no price here is fixed). So I start the book, because I have been so looking forward to reading and haven’t been able to find it in Kampala, and I find this;

“See, when you come to Bangalore, and stop at a traffic light, some boy will run up to your car and knock on your window, while holding up a bootlegged copy of an American book, wrapped carefully in Cellophane…”

I just could not stop laughing and if I could meet the author, I would want him to sign this bootlegged copy of his book.

4 thoughts on “Incredible India – Last days in Delhi

  1. I loved white tiger…pretty good book i tell ya, got me a copy when it was fresh off the press

  2. LOL!! Now that’s true irony! Like I’ve said over and over again, I’m superbly jealous. I.Want.India!!

    Have fun though!

  3. Aw! Now I miss u more than ever my friend. I’ve been to India twice for a month each time but I’ve never toured cuz well, I was spending time with my family. Now I’m soo totally jealous. Can’t wait to see what u bought.

Leave a Reply

