Dee In A Nutshell

Feed Me, Love Me, Never Leave Me.

The Wrestler

10 Comments

For the longest time I had never heard a Bruce Springsteen song, not even one. Then I met Ernest and that all changed, now I absolutely love me some Springsteen especially if it’s just him, his harmonica and guitar.

Recently, Hollywood gave us yet another stunning work of art in a not so long line of stunning works of art (See: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen) The Wrestler was beautiful, haunting, memorable and nuanced. As much as I loved the movie what cinched it for me was this penned-specially-for-the-movie Springsteen song.

 Have you ever seen a one trick pony in the field so happy and free?

If you’ve ever seen a one trick pony then you’ve seen me

Have you ever seen a one-legged dog making its way down the street?

If you’ve ever seen a one-legged dog then you’ve seen me

Then you’ve seen me, I come and stand at every door

Then you’ve seen me, I always leave with less than I had before

Then you’ve seen me, bet I can make you smile when the blood, it hits the floor

Tell me, friend, can you ask for anything more?

Tell me can you ask for anything more?

Have you ever seen a scarecrow filled with nothing but dust and wheat?

If you’ve ever seen that scarecrow then you’ve seen me

Have you ever seen a one-armed man punching at nothing but the breeze?

If you’ve ever seen a one-armed man then you’ve seen me

Then you’ve seen me, I come and stand at every door

Then you’ve seen me, I always leave with less than I had before

Then you’ve seen me, bet I can make you smile when the blood, it hits the floor

Tell me, friend, can you ask for anything more?

Tell me can you ask for anything more?

These things that have comforted me, I drive away

This place that is my home I cannot stay

My only faith’s in the broken bones and bruises I display

Have you ever seen a one-legged man trying to dance his way free?

If you’ve ever seen a one-legged man then you’ve seen me

This song perfectly captures the movie but more than that, it is a wonderful song on it’s own.

10 thoughts on “The Wrestler

  1. Oh these are the socks right here.

    And now, let me get you a youtube that will blow you away.

  2. (*&$T#$!!! IT department. Okay, youtube search the video of No Retreat No Surrender live in Toronto. You will RTFCMAO.

  3. I can read but I cant listen when are uploading the mp3, what? never……………okay okay, lemme go see the movie.

  4. oba it has diturbing lyrics?lemme look for the movie

  5. Can I ask what the picture gracing the top of your blog is about? Just curious.

  6. off to download, no fucking around.

  7. just listend to my first ever bruce springsteen track. and well, yeah ok. its music.

  8. @petesmama: The picture was taken at Cassia Lodge with my phone but there were those people in my shot.
    @streetsider: What?!?!?!?! That is your reaction? What song did you listen to?

  9. that gu wrestler thingee, you people who lose your minds over springsteen, i have no clue.

  10. I had a love-hate relationship with The Wrestler. The jury that lives in my head can’t decide on what exactly didn’t click. Perhaps it was that Evan Rachel Wood was so under-utilized. Perhaps it was knowing Mickey Rourke’s story, the movie seemed like an autobiography for him. It was disturbing and great and haunting and dull – all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

