Dee In A Nutshell

Feed Me, Love Me, Never Leave Me.

Bed of Roses

8 Comments

Bed Of Roses

Sitting here wasted and wounded
At this old piano
Trying hard to capture
The moment this morning I don’t know
‘Cause a bottle of vodka
Is still lodged in my head
And some blond gave me nightmares
I think that she’s still in my bed
As I dream about movies
They won’t make of me when I’m dead

With an ironclad fist I wake up and
French kiss the morning
While some marching band keeps
Its own beat in my head
While we’re talking
About all of the things that I long to believe
About love and the truth and
What you mean to me
And the truth is baby you’re all that I need

I want to lay you down in a bed of roses
For tonight I sleep on a bed of nails
I want to be just as close as the Holy Ghost is
And lay you down on a bed of roses

Well I’m so far away
That each step that I take is on my way home
A king’s ransom in dimes I’d given each night
Just to see through this payphone
Still I run out of time
Or it’s hard to get through
Till the bird on the wire flies me back to you
I’ll just close my eyes and whisper,
Baby blind love is true

I want to lay you down in a bed of roses
For tonight I sleep on a bed of nails
I want to be just as close as the Holy Ghost is
And lay you down on a bed of roses

The hotel bar hangover whiskey’s gone dry
The barkeeper’s wig’s crooked
And she’s giving me the eye
I might have said yeah
But I laughed so hard I think I died

Now as you close your eyes
Know I’ll be thinking about you
While my mistress she calls me
To stand in her spotlight again
Tonight I won’t be alone
But you know that don’t
Mean I’m not lonely
I’ve got nothing to prove
For it’s you that I’d die to defend

I want to lay you down in a bed of roses
For tonight I sleep on a bed of nails
I want to be just as close as the Holy Ghost is
And lay you down on a bed of roses

This was the first rock song I ever heard. I remember it like it was yesterday, it was actually 1993. The video was on TV and I was in the room and this song comes on and I knew immediately that I would forever love this man’s voice. I went to the living to watch the video and it kinda helped that Bon Jovi is pretty good looking. Seriously though, it just spoke to me and took me with it. I remember simply standing in front of the Tv ’til it ended and there was no turning back. I have been a rock fan since and I have loved Bon Jovi from that day. My favourite line is “A king ransom’s in dime I’d give each night to see through this pay phone”

Do you remember the song that did it for you?

8 thoughts on “Bed of Roses

  1. For me it was Heart. My dad bought a heart LP in 1978 or 1979 (yeah, I know it was a decade before you were born Dee). One of the songs that reminds me of my childhood and my dad’s love for rock is Little Queen –

    Hot on the presses today – little queen
    Making your passion play – little queen
    Nobody knows your melancholy mind –
    little queen

    I always thought they were singing about me.

  2. For me, We Built This City – Starship.

    I was about 4 and I heard it on a record player. Me and this old lady who was looking after me, we were stuck in her house for a week during a massive blizzard, just me and her. And so we listened to music and danced.

  3. @DeTambs…
    I remember that one…

    @Dee
    the one that got me was, when doves cry by Prince… Yeah Dee, i know it ain’t in the rock genre…

    and also, one by starship called…
    Nothing’s gonna stop us…
    Loved that track,
    and we can build this thing forever, standing strong together…
    and one other that used to play on UTV by Heart called, These Dreams…

    Geez, Tumwi…

  4. for me it must have been bamusakata-by Ragga Dee (I think).

    Lol. Kidding.

    It must have been Don’t wanna miss a thing- Aero Smith. First heard it on that Armageddon movie and fell in love with it.

    -Miss Cheri

  5. Cheri, i have no words. even forgot what i came to comment about!

  6. Mr Jones by Counting Crows. That was the song that for real got me into rock.

    And Edmo, When Doves Cry, why can’t it be called a rock song? It has all the elements of one.

  7. ur truly uganda’s no.1 rock lover as tumwi is to jazz.

    i came 2 appreciate good music a bit late & as i have always loved laid back disco-like sounds, the 1st song i loved with all my soul is tlc’s ‘creep.’ thanx 2 ma big bro julio. and although i’ve since become a gospel guy, every time i hear that song on radio i stop the business of life until its all gone.that’s me. well.

  8. Bone Thugs ‘N Harmony – Crossroads

Leave a Reply

