Dee In A Nutshell

Feed Me, Love Me, Never Leave Me.

African Reading Challenge

7 Comments

I said I would enter the reading challenge and I have but I don’t have a list of books. I have decided to read the books then add them to the list.

I just finished A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah and like he said it is worth the read. It is told in a very matter of fact way, no embellishments, no style but it gets the message across. I don’t know if I would have been able to read it if it hadn’t been written like it is. It is a harrowing story, a 12 year old boy slitting someone’s throat with a bayonet is hard enough to comprehend without it being written in language that evokes the images vividly, so I am kind of glad it is not very well written. It is a very sad reality where these boys are taken from their families and recruited into the army (the army, not the rebel forces, the bloody army.) I am inspired to find out more.

Read this but I emaphasize, the writing is lacklustre at best.

I am going to take a break now and read the only Tony Parson’s book I haven’t yet read, The Family Way.

7 thoughts on “African Reading Challenge

  1. I have nothing to say about reading books, seeing as I don’t read them.
    But I was amused by a story in the New York times about how Manhattanites can break up over differences in literary taste. Someone breaks up with you and tells you. ” It’s not you, it’s your books.

  2. @Magoola: That makes sense, I think. They can even be crappy in bed and get away with it. But I don’t forgive you for reading [insert some author we all know very well].

  3. I thought I might read this book, but now I’m convinced not to. Especially since he was caught with his pants down (http://www.slate.com/id/2185928/)

  4. Some beef right there. Rev, you are right on the money about the books, any partners who are rubbish in bed shall be thrown out no matter how well they are read.

  5. I agree w/ Tumwi that truth should never be embellished. I disagree about not reading the book.

    “A long way gone” may not have happened [entirely] to Beah but it’s happening to another African child in the DRC, in Ethiopia, in Sudan…and it happened to scores of children in Northern Uganda. So what if he was child soldier for 2 seconds? That’s already unbearably unacceptable.

    From their cushy jobs in high-rise buildings in New York and Australia, those journalists understand less than zero about being a child in Africa and surviving past your 5th birthday. So what if Ishmael stretched his creative licence? Under whose guidance, and personal ambition I might add, did that happen? Another pushy Muzungu wanting to make a name for herself on the coat-tails of a miserable child soldier’s tale.

    Ishmael Beah is the real victim here, in 1993 or 1995. Amidst all the territorial chest-thumping and nugu-fied accusations and counter-accusations from these first-worlders, let’s not forget we know better than them what Africa is like. And so does Beah.

    Sorry Dee. Topics like these make me boil. And vent. Anyway.

  6. Forgot to sign in and id myself up there. My bad.

Leave a Reply

