Dee In A Nutshell

Feed Me, Love Me, Never Leave Me.

Only a few questions.

8 Comments

Despite there being no fuel in town, there was a massive traffic jam on my way to work today. This is so not good, the no fuel I mean. I was speaking to someone earlier today who called to my attention the fact that we are not the only ones suffering from the border closing. I had forgotten that Rwanda, Burundi, Congo and Sudan all benefit from neighbouring Kenya. If this carries on much longer, everything will eventually be priced much higher to factor in the price of fuel.
While we are on the subject of Kenya, what I want to ask, what gets me so incensed, is the machetes. Must it be machetes? I wonder about the human condition when one man can hack another to death and watch him die as he does this. We have an incredible capacity for evil as humans, we do. To burn up a church with women and children in it simply because they are not the same tribe as you is ludicrous and I cannot believe it is happening. Is there anything I can do, we can do to stop the madness? I also wonder about a man who starts out with a pledge to help his people but goes on to let this evil fester right under his nose knowing it is all his own fault. Does Kibaki not care? I know they say that power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely but how can he not care at all? How long will he not care? Now, I am not very political at all but it sucks to see what is happening and to have it happen only next door. Please don’t let this turn into another genocide. Kenya, you are all very much in my prayers.

Year in Review

All in all, I have had a pretty interesting year.

I got my heart broken and met the love of my life.

I got a job, lost it, got another one and got a promotion.

I moved house and really love the one I’m in now.

I pierced my tongue and let the second piercings in my ear seal up.

I got green eyes which I assure you I love. (see banner)

I cried, laughed, sighed, danced, loved and lived.

The one still to come.

For the new year I resolve to

Blog more often (yeah right)

Care more practically (i.e. give alms and volunteer for good causes)

And the biggie, launch the Read-A-Book Literacy programme. (I want to promote the reading culture in primary school going children and I need all of you guys help to make this happen. You can start by giving me all your old children’s books and promising to volunteer to read to the kids when I need you to.)

Wish me luck.

8 thoughts on “Only a few questions.

  1. 1. Nice post – I have always read all your posts thru google reader.
    2. Thanks for having the courage to move on after any setbacks.
    3. I am willing to be a partner and supporter in your cause – just let me know how we can start it all by sending me an email.
    4. For the new year, I want to strive to be a better person and build a firm foundation for my future.
    5. I am launching a foundation in my names and for the start, I will be targeting the girl child especially orphans.

    All the best and Happy New Year. May all your dreams come true.

  2. our country is well on its way to normalcy no thanks to our “leaders”. prayers most welcome.

    sounds like you had a great year, may you reach greater heights in this brand new one!

  3. Yeah. Get Read-A-Book off the ground. You should.

  4. Assuming I’m the love of yo life!!!! Happy nu ya Dee.

    And get a book would so be a success. I have a huge stash of books. But does Mills & Boon or Silhouttes count? lol

  5. All the best Dee.
    Hve a fab new year!!

  6. i love ur idea about a literacy programme. can’t wait to participate.

    p.s. have carlo giv u all my children’s books.

  7. i have no children’s books to share. i could read though.if you have any lukiga sessions…

  8. Hi, I think the literacy programme is spot on…..I would like to start the same here in Kigali for primary kids too but books in English are very rare……any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

