Dee In A Nutshell

Feed Me, Love Me, Never Leave Me.

That book review I promised.

5 Comments

Since I read this book, I have read about 3 others but luckily for me I found a review I had written some time back and I still agree with it. The book is

If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things by Jon McGregor.

If you read alot then you know that there is usually one book which just seems like a drop of rain in a desert of okay-written, not so memorable books and this book is one of those.

You will think about it a long time after you have read it and you will want everyone to read it so you can have someone to talk to it about. It’s books like this that give book clubs a reason for existance. In fact, I implore each one of you to read it so we can talk about it at the next BHH.

I loved this book, it is so beautifully written, so in fact, that I could not pick just one passage for an excerpt post, you need to read all of it. When someone writes so hauntingly about a rainy afternoon for the better part of 10 pages and still makes you want to read the rest of it; when you get shivers and actually hear the rain, you know you’re onto something golden.

I didn’t want this book to end and the only way I can think of doing this is to get all of you to read it so we can talk about it for the rest of our lives.

Nice reading.

5 thoughts on “That book review I promised.

  1. That book was sublime. And for an excerpt, how about the very first paragraph? That was what gripped me.

    Oh, firsties. Now the rest can talk theirs.

  2. everytime i read your book reviews i feel cheated, darlyne. how i wish u could tell some more. e.g. what’s the book cover like, what drives the central character,would u give the book 2 your little brother/sister to read, what struck u most, say about the use of language, is it more conversational or does the author rely more on other techniques, how does it compare 2 other writers u’ve read who write in a related manner ..blah blah…u could tell us about all that without giving much & in a few words, for that surely would delight some of us the more.

  3. Dee, you know Im first in line for that book right???
    get at me on how I can get it from you.
    I promise we shall talk about it forever ……untill another great one that is.

  4. Hmmn
    welcome back to blogsville..

    that book, hmmn

    i’ll letchu know how it goes..

  5. And she’s back.

    Yay!

    Jon McGregor is a god.

Leave a Reply

