Dee In A Nutshell

Feed Me, Love Me, Never Leave Me.

Rock Night Chronicles

5 Comments

Have you ever just been dying to listen to a song and you can’t find it? Since Friday of last week, I was dying to listen to ‘Starlight’ by Muse but never to find it anywhere (and don’t tell me now how you have it.) I listened to Touch FM and asked for it everyday till yesterday, nothing, they don’t have it yet. I go to Steak Out yesterday and ask Shadrac for it but he doesn’t have it either, he tells me Tams does. I have to leave at 11.30pm and still no Tams and just as I am walking out he walks in and I tell him he must play this song and bless his soul it is the first of his set. I was so happy, I just wanted to cry. Thank you Tams.

Talk about crying for songs, I haven’t heard ‘Travelling Soldier’ by The Dixie Chicks in a while, so when I listened to it this afternoon, it was all I could do to stop myself wailing and calling attention to myself. See the lyrics below and cry with me.

“Travelin’ Soldier”

Two days past eighteen
He was waiting for the bus in his army green
Sat down in a booth in a cafe there
Gave his order to a girl with a bow in her hair
He’s a little shy so she gives him a smile
And he said would you mind sittin’ down for a while
And talking to me,I’m feeling a little low
She said I’m off in an hour and I know where we can go

So they went down and they sat on the pier
He said I bet you got a boyfriend but I don’t care
I got no one to send a letter to
Would you mind if I sent one back here to you

Chorus:

I criedNever gonna hold the hand of another guy
Too young for him they told her
Waitin’ for the love of a travelin’ soldier
Our love will never end
Waitin’ for the soldier to come back again
Never more to be alone when the letter said
A soldier’s coming home

So the letters came from an army camp
In California then Vietnam
And he told her of his heart
It might be love and all of the things he was so scared of
He said when it’s getting kinda rough over here
I think of that day sittin’ down at the pier
And I close my eyes and see your pretty smile
Don’t worry but I won’t be able to write for awhile

[Chorus]

One Friday night at a football game
The Lord’s Prayer said and the Anthem sang
A man said folks would you bow your heads
For a list of local Vietnam dead
Crying all alone under the stands
Was a piccolo player in the marching band
And one name read and nobody really
a pretty little girl with a bow in her hair

[Chorus x2]

Is that not the saddest song?

Bye.

5 thoughts on “Rock Night Chronicles

  1. Well, the frequency has become kinda enviable … :o)

  2. That is the saddest song…and I HAVE THAT STARLIGHT SONG! What?!

    p.s>> I’m just as shocked as you are over the other thing at my blog

  3. 27 indoctrinated me. Can’t see beauty in anything that has to do with American soldiers.

    Plus I don’t get poetry and lyrics and … Basically I am dense.

  4. @27th: Now that you will be idle you can always come along.

    @Ivan: What did I say? Don’t tell me now that you have it. Anyway, I got it.

    @Tumwi: I guess you have to actually hear it, the Dixie Chicks will make it sad.

  5. Agree with the song…I think Godspeed on the same album is more touching. Slipped Away by Avril Lavigne is also amazing. I cry everytime I hear it, but I keep going back to it! Pathetic. Listen to them. X

Leave a Reply

