Dee In A Nutshell

Feed Me, Love Me, Never Leave Me.

More Books

11 Comments

I finally thought of something to write about. I was going through my old posts and noticed I should have talked about other books that I read, I’m sorry I forgot. Since that last post I have read so many books but I can only remember 8 and I will write about four to begin with in chronoligical order from the last one I read.

A Series of Unfortunate Events – Lemony Snicket:
A Bad Beginning – Book the First.
I just finished reading this last night and I must say I really liked it. It is funny and easy to read. I like children’s books and I usually enjoy them immensely and this one was no different.In this book the Baudeliere children become orphans and must stay with Count Olaf, which as you can imagine, does not go well. My 12 year old sister read Book the Third and really liked it. You should give it a try.
The Shadow Of The Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
There is something about these South American writers and magical realism, they do it so well and I am quickly getting hooked to this genre. This book was a bit different, in that, it was very believable, I guess that explains the realism bit. It is about this boy and this book, it is truly a book for people who love books. Rev, you will be getting this soon, don’t fret. It is very well written and the imagery is beautiful. Have you ever read a book and so clearly seen it? That’s what reading this was like for me.
A Series of Unfortunate Events – Lemony Snicket:
The Wide Window – Book The Third
I read this one before the first one by mistake. When Ernest bought it he thought it was the first one and I took it of him before he could read it. I guess you could say it was the beginning of my obsession with everything Snicket but that wouldn’t be strictly true because the movie was the beginning. I really liked it and I knew I wanted to read the book it was based on. Just recently I find that it is actually 3 books. In this particular one is when the orphans go to stay with their Aunt Josephine. It takes on basically the same vein as the first one and it is worth a read. While you’re at it, check out the website lemonysnicket.com
Fury – Salman Rushdie
Now anyone who knows me knows I am a huge Rushdie fan, I adore his books. This man is a genius, genius, I tell you and this book is no different. How do you begin to describe the thing you love most? I feel my words are inadequate to impress upon you how his words make me feel. I am planning to read everything he has ever written and I don’t think I am a long way off. I loved this book, though not as much as I loved ‘The Ground Beneath Her Feet.’
I am tired of writing now so I will stop and write some more soon. I will also put up a list of the ones I want to read and see if you guys can help me get them.
I’m out.
11 thoughts on “More Books

  1. I need more convincing to pick up any of these books. And never been a Rusdie fan.

  2. Iwaya, you just blasphemed. A fatwa is out for you. I swear. You’re no Rushdie fan? You are – everybody is – you just don’t know it yet. You’re not in touch with your more-imaginative buttock. :o)
    Okay, now I am blaspheming the Great, Great Iwaya. But you get the (gentle) point. Rushdie is the embodiment of skilled penmaship of this century. Until you and I get published. And Dee will be of penwomanship. ;o)

    Now, that book by that Spaniard guy has had some claps. This Saturday, I’m there.

  3. Where is the book we were supposed to share?

  4. I have heard a lot about Rushdie and i aim to pick up one of his books soon.

  5. Okay, Dee … can’t seem to raise you on the phone. Both numbers (don’t know which is supposed to be working …). Can you try to get through, kinda? And I swear I’m talking about the Spaniard’s book. :o)

  6. You liked The Shadow of the Wind? I trudged through it painfully. Honestly. I felt like I was being beaten over the head with language and a plot that unfolded too slowly for my liking.

    Lemony Snicket rules – rulesish. He’s no Potter though.

  7. I read Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s “100 years of solitude” and it took me 3 weeks of reading and re-reading to feel like I’d internalized it.
    I’ve always wanted to read a Salman Rushdie one day.
    I watch Looneytoons but I don’t read kiddie books. I know, it’s ridiculous.

  8. @Tumwijuke: I find it hard to believe that you didn’t like the Shadow of The Wind. I found it so engaging, not only on the plot level but simply by this guy’s writing. I was amazed at the imagery (which might be because it was translated, don’t you find that translated books have such strong imagery? See, for example, Memoirs of a Geisha), I just really enjoyed reading it, as in the actual reading of the book without necessarily dying to know wanting to know what happens at the end of the book. Have I made any sense?

    @Fujitsoux: My favourite Rushdie book is ‘The Ground Beneath Her Feet’, if you are to start anywhere start there. Then call me, I have Fury and Satanic Verses, you can read them if you want.

    @27th Comrade: I changed my number sorry. It’s the same as the MTN just that it’s now Mango. All you need to do is change the second 7 to a 1 and you’ll get through to me.

    @Iwaya: It’s hard to believe you are not a Rushdie fan. Have you read The Ground Beneath Her Feet or Haroun and the Sea of Stories? Those two books should change your mind.

    @BS: Never to remember what book.

  9. I think Iwaya brainwashed me! He told me how he’s “no Rushdie fan” a while back and when I was forced to read and review Midnight’s Children for my school paper this week, I found myself honestly not feeling his style as much as I used to. seriously, he neglects MEANING and thinks he can get away with it cuz he’s Rushdie! i even started to seriously wonder if he writes when he’s stoned…

  10. all the blasphemy on Rushdie! chill the poor soul and just enjoy his books. They’re not meant for such seriuos scrutiny i think ish!

  11. Hi. Not to nitpick, but Carlos Ruiz Zafon is a Spanish writer, and not a South American writer. The Shadow of the Wind is not a book written in the magic realism genre; every event in the book, except for the supernatural events narrated in the Aldaya Mansion were all devoid of magic. It is more of a Gothic novel genre-wise, rather than magic realism.

    But I am glad you liked it, I myself have just finished reading the book.

Leave a Reply

